image: Apply Now!

FOCA Achievement Award

Nominate your association for the next FOCA Achievement Award!

Large or small associations can apply, and accomplishments should be current, but can include long-standing efforts.

Apply by November 30th. 

Click here to download the Nomination Form (PDF; 3 pages)


Nominees for the next FOCA Achievement Award must be Association Members of FOCA, in good standing. Nominations can be submitted until November 30th of the year. The award recipient will be announced the following February, and the award is presented in person at the FOCA Annual General Meeting in March. (A representative of the association is asked to attend the AGM to present a brief presentation about the work undertaken.) See more nomination details below, under “Criteria for Nomination.”

The latest FOCA Achievement Award and Honourable Mentions were presented at the March 2020 FOCA Annual General Meeting and Spring Seminar. Congratulations to the recipients:

2019 FOCA Achievement Award Recipient: Farlain Lake Community Association

The discovery of Eurasian Watermilfoil in Farlain Lake, near Awenda Provincial Park, resulted in the association developing a Eurasian Watermilfoil Control Program. In 2019, the association received a $200,000 grant from the Ontario Trillium Foundation for the Program. The Farlain Lake Community Association is committed to sharing their experiences and what they learn with other communities in Ontario.

2019 Honourable Mention: Scugog Lake Stewards

The Scugog Lake Stewards have been dedicated to the health of Lake Scugog for many years. They have undertaken dozens of environmental projects, worked successfully with their Township, and carried out long-standing lake research and monitoring for invasive aquatic species including Eurasian Watermilfoil and Starry Stonewort.
2019 Honourable Mention: Friends of Oak Lake

The Friends of Oak Lake, north of Belleville, formed as a result of a large hog manure spill that entered their lake in 2018. The incident inspired a group of residents to form the association in order to lobby municipal government for an environmental study and for funds to re-route the century-old sub-surface tile drain away from Oak Lake.

About the Award

The FOCA Achievement Award is presented to a FOCA member Association each year, at the discretion of the FOCA Board of Directors. The award celebrates the successes of the FOCA community, and encourages peer sharing of best-practices.

YouTube FOCA Award video still 2015Watch a slide show that highlights several past winners of the FOCA Achievement Award. Click the image at right to link to the short YouTube video montage –>

Criteria for Nomination:

Nominees must be current FOCA member Associations in good standing. Nominees’ activities must be consistent with FOCA’s Mission: “to protect thriving and sustainable waterfronts across Ontario.”

Activities or achievements should be current, although they can be long-standing programs, and should relate to at least one of the following categories:

  • environmental stewardship
  • land use planning initiatives
  • research and/or education
  • political involvement
  • other innovations or successes in line with FOCA’s mission

Nominations are welcomed from individuals, associations, umbrella organizations, municipal/county/provincial government employees, conservancies and any other interested parties.

Nominations consist of a completed nomination form (see link above) and any additional support documents deemed significant by the nominee. Recipients of the award will be selected primarily based upon the documentation submitted with the Nomination form.

FOCA Achievement Award Recipients:

2019 Farlain Lake Community Association
2018 White Lake Cottagers’ Association
2017 Skootamatta District Ratepayers Association
2016 Golden Lake & Bonnechere River Property Owners’ Association
2015 Jack’s Lake Association
2014 Redstone Lake Cottagers Association

2013 Pike Lake Cottagers Association
2012 Leech Lake Cottagers Association
2011 Crane Lake Association
2010 Hudson Lakes Association
2009 Point Clark Beach Association
2008 Otty Lake Association
2007 Kennisis Lake Cottage Owner’s Association
2006 Limerick Waterways Ratepayer’s Association
2005 Faraday (Trout Lake) Association
2004 Huntsville Lakes Council
2003 Eagle Lake Conservation Association
2002 Kawartha Lake Stewards Association
2001 Norway Lake Association
2000 Cecebe Waterways Association
1999 Belmont Lake Association & Greater Bobs and Crow Lakes Association
1998 Paudash Lake Conservation Association & West Carling Association
1997 Lake Panache Campers Association
1996 North Sound Cottagers’ Association

Apply for the award on behalf of your great association!

Michelle LewinFOCA Achievement Award